Fly-Fishing Travel in Argentina Alert

Fly -fishing travel abroad these days is interesting to say the least. Airlines are always changing their policies, which makes difficult travel even more challenging at times.  Having just returned from two weeks inArgentina, we learned this first hand.

Ironically after publishing my latest Blog  piece on my  favorite fly-fishing travel bags while traveling to South America I learned they no longer allow you to carry your rods or reels on the plane.  Seems they are a serious threat, or something like that. I have always traveled with my rods just in their socks since I often take a fair number of them.  They aren’t all mine, but I use these opportunities to test a number of different rods and reels while also getting feedback from those I travel with on this equipment.

As I meet our Gaia, our guide inBuenos Aires, upon her seeing my handful of rods in tow she informs me that when flying domestically in Argentina one needs to now check their rods and reels.  Fortunately one of my customers had the Fishpond Dakota Carry On  with him and I was able to put my rods in that.  To our astonishment when we added mine to what he already had in this versatile rod and reel travel bag it had 11 rods securely tucked within.  It couldn’t have taken another that is for sure.  After 10 days inArgentinathrashing around in the back of various vehicles, boats, and airports, two days of flying all rods arrived safe and sound back home.

First, if you’re headed down south to fly-fishing this incredible country, be prepared to check your rods and reels.  When it comes to reels, hide them as best you can.  Better yet, wrap your luggage in plastic, its about 10 dollars per bag.  Rod tubes are good, but if you have more than one rod, check out Fishponds great rod and reel travel pieces.  They’ve earned my respect and value, especially the Dakota Carry On.

Leave a comment